Kigumo MP Jamleck Kamau has expressed concern on the prolonged strike by health workers which has paralyzed delivery of services in several county hospitals countrywide.

Kamau at the same time castigated Murang’a county government for failure to remit statutory deductions of the health workers to respective organizations, one of the reasons that had forced the workers to down their tools.

Speaking on a tour of Mathioya Sub County on Sunday, the Kigumo legislator stressed that the county government stands to blame over the health workers strike after it failed to remit their statutory deductions exposing them to suffering.

He said nurses among other health workers have been out of hospitals subjecting hundreds of patients to agony since they cannot afford medical care from private facilities.

“Lets the county government tell us where it takes the money deducted from workers since there is complaint that the deductions do not reach the respective organizations,” demanded Kamau.

Since November last year, the health workers have been staging demonstrations demanding that the county government remits their statutory deductions.

Medical services have been paralyzed particularly in Murang’a county hospital since the beginning of this year after workers vowed not to return to their duties till their deductions are remitted.

County government officials on the other hand blame non-remittance of medics’ deductions to failure of systems that wires the same to various organizations.

They said deductions of most of workers had been remitted and they were in the process of remitting the remaining ones.

Kamau who is eying Murang’a gubernatorial seat promised to support the health sector should he win in the polls scheduled for August.

He asked the residents to join Jubilee party and to ignore PNU and other parties which he noted had penetrated the region with the sole purpose of misleading them.

“Let us have a common agenda to support re-election of the President by joining Jubilee party which has structures,” said the MP.